First Fandom Scientification logo

MidAmericon II Report & Photos
First Fandom News
ConJose Photos
Midwestcon Photos
Archon 24 Photos
Hall of Fame Award
 Moskowitz Archive Award
Posthumous HoF Award
 Members Photo Gallery
First Fandom
First Fandom is not dead, only doddering
Deb Fulton, Doug Ellis -e Sam Moskowitz Archive Award
 Deb Fulton and Doug Ellis accepting the Sam Moskowitz Archive Award
at Chicon 8 in Chicago, Illinois on September 1, 2022.
Founded during Midwestcon on Easter weekend of 1959 to organize the science fiction fans of the golden era and bring back fans who had dropped out of fandom, First Fandom was originally limited to fans active prior to 1938. The first President was Robert A. Madle.

There are several categories for membership in First Fandom. A dinosaur is one who was active in science fiction or fannish activities on or before the First World Science Fiction Convention held over the July 4, 1939, weekend in New York City. Other memberships categories are available.  Anyone who has engaged in correspondence, collecting, conventions, fanzine publishing or reading, writing or participated in a science fiction club for at least 30 years may be eligible for Associate Membership.

First Fandom presents three annual or nearly annual awards: the Hall of Fame Award, Posthumous Hall of Fame Award and the Sam Moskowitz Archive Award. Most years they are presented at the beginning the Hugo Award ceremony at the World Science Fiction Convention.

Last of the Dinosaurs

Robert A. MadleAcknowledging Robert A. Madle as the sole surviving full member of First Fandom, John L. Coker III sent him the last man’s bottle, inscribed thusly: “This bottle is reserved for science-fiction fandom’s Living Legend Robert A. (Bob) Madle, who in 1958 suggested the idea of forming an organization called First Fandom, a fun-loving group of science-fiction fans of the Golden Era. Founders of First Fandom included C. L. (Doc) Barrett, Don Ford, Lou Tabakow, Ben Keifer and Lynn Hickman. The first person to join the group other than the founders was Robert Bloch.
First Fandom would give recognition awards to the great authors of the past, publish a magazine and keep the history of science-fiction in front of today’s fans. It would be a “last man’s club” with the final member “knocking off a privately held fifth of liquor.
Bob served as the first president of First Fandom for more than twenty-five years. It is ironic that more than sixty years since its inception, Bob Madle is now the only surviving genuine member of First Fandom.
Let us raise a glass and toast our co-founder Robert A. Madle and all of the fans from the bygone days who experienced the sense of wonder, on whose broad shoulders, modern science-fiction fans can proudly stand today.”
Photo by Jane Madle.

2022 First Fandom Awards

The 2022 First Fandom Awards were presented at Chicon 8, the 80th World Science Fiction Convention in Chicago during Opening Ceremonies on September 1, 2022. The Sam Moskowitz Archive Award was presented to Doug Ellis and Deb Fulton. The First Fandom Hall of Fame was awarded to George W. Price who was unable to attend. August Derleth was inducted into the First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame.


Membership dues are $15 for the new fiscal year, which started on July 1st.
Please send renewal checks (payable to Keith W. Stokes) to Keith at 14305 West 83rd Place, Lenexa, KS 66215. If you are uncertain if you are current, email

For more details about First Fandom contact President John L. Coker III at
web design by Keith Stokes "First Fandom is not dead, only doddering" quote from Bob Tucker. Copyright 1939-2021